Meal Plan & Food List

Normally I do my meal planning on Thursday or Friday, shop Saturday morning and then cook the dishes which take more time (that I can refrigerate or freeze for later) on Saturday & Sunday. This week was a little different as my Friday night started as a planned few hour family dinner at my brother’s, and turned into 3 bottles of wine and me sleeping over. Don’t you just love night’s that just happen but weren’t planned? Best.

I digress.

This week I’m planning on Saturday night, and will do some cooking Sunday but I don’t have to include a great Sunday dinner (which we love in our house) as we’re going to a work bbq.  So I’m planning 4 dinners (Mon – Thurs) vs the norm 6 (Sat – Thurs…Friday is always pizza night in our house so I don’t count that in the plan).

My planned meals for the week are:

Breakfast

  1. Scrambled eggs with extra old cheddar; rye bread toast; mango kefir; strawberries & bananas
  2. Buttermilk dark chocolate chunk & blueberry pancakes & mango kefir; strawberries & bananas
  3. For a rushed morning – raisin bran; mango kefir; strawberries & bananas

Lunches

  1. Charcuterie (for our babe)
  2. Chicken drumstick & pesto pasta (for our babe)
  3. Tuna salad on roll & kale salad (for us)
  4. Kale salad & chicken breast (for us)
  5. Leftovers as needed

Dinners

  1. Panko Parm chops with sweet potatoes + asparagus
  2. Scoop dinner (details below)
  3. Tomato Soup & grilled cheese (our babe’s fav)
  4. Skillet lasagna (haven’t made this before. I feel like it’s going to be the star of the week, and thus a repeat for us)

Grocery list

  • Lemons
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Apples (for lunches)
  • Bananas
  • Bag salad
  • 1 head of romaine
  • Fresh basil, oregano, thyme, parsley
  • Broccoli (for pre-dinner veggie snack)
  • Asparagus
  • Mushrooms (for pre-dinner veggie snack)
  • Cold Cuts
  • Olives
  • Dried apricots (for babe’s lunch, she loves them)
  • Whole roast chicken (time saver in a pinch)
  • Fresh Parmesan
  • Small ricotta
  • Rolls for tuna sandwich
  • Dark rye Bread (fav for toast in our house)
  • Ground turkey
  • 1lb extra lean ground beef
  • Salsa
  • Nachos
  • Crackers (what babe prefers with her charcuterie)
  • 28oz can petite diced tomatoes
  • 8oz can tomato sauce (I buy as low as sodium as possible, takes me about 10 minutes to choose each time)
  • Olive oil
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Bowtie pasta
  • Small mozzarella (1cup shredded)

What I already had / don’t need to buy

  • Mango kefir
  • Buttermilk pancake mix (don’t always use it, but when I have a lot going on and can’t make from scratch, it’s great)
  • Garlic cloves
  • Raisin bran
  • Extra old cheddar
  • Tuna
  • Olive oil mayo
  • Avocados
  • Pesto pasta
  • Panko breadcrumbs
  • Sugar (need a bit in the skillet lasagna, I use raw sugar)
  • Flour
  • Salt & pepper (we use himalayan pink salt)
  • Plain Greek yogurt (which I use in place of sour cream)

Notes

Breakfast

  1. Scrambled eggs with extra old cheddar: I make a batch of these and save some for the next day making it a quick reheat
  2. Buttermilk dark chocolate chunk & blueberry pancakes: I make these ahead, pop them in the toaster in the morning

Lunches

  1. Charcuterie (for our babe): she loves it, so in her YumBox goes salami, cubes of cheese, cracker, then carrots  cucumbers and a piece of dark chocolate

Dinners

  1. Panko Parm chops with sweet potatoes + asparagus: I bake the sweet potatoes and just put butter, simple. Asparagus is steamed then topped with olive oil & balsamic & salt/pepper…sometimes fresh parm
  2. Scoop dinner: brown ground turkey (drain water as you go); add salsa when it’s almost cooked; put it on top of a bowl of chopped romaine along with cubed avocado & grated cheese. The dressing is sour cream (I use plain Greek yogurt) mixed with salsa and drizzled. Then you have a side of nachos which you then scoop it up with. Our babe started calling it scoop dinner because of this action, and it stuck. It’s a taco salad, really.

Well, I’ve planned it out, and ready to tackle.  First thing in the morning I will go for my favorite weekend treat – Sunterra coffee, then do the grocery shopping & cook / prep for the week throughout the afternoon.

Happy YumSipLoving!

Leave a Reply

